Destination Dot-com

Marty Wentzel HONOLULU Western agents can help generate interest in Hawaii travel by directing their clients to a Web site created by the state. The site, www.hawaii-products.com, features hundreds of online companies selling Hawaiian-made goods. “The Web site gives mainland travel agents one more tool

By: Marty Wentzel

HONOLULU Western agents can help generate interest in Hawaii travel by directing their clients to a Web site created by the state. The site, www.hawaii-products.com, features hundreds of online companies selling Hawaiian-made goods.

“The Web site gives mainland travel agents one more tool to help enhance the Hawaii experience for their clients,” said Department of Business, Economic Development and tourism Business (DBEDT) spokesman Steven Lee, who manages the site. “Every day, we get inquiries from people on the mainland, who have traveled or will travel to Hawaii. People who have been here often are looking for products they discovered in the islands. For those who plan on going to Hawaii, we have been a source of information for events and trade shows.” The Web site which the DBEDT has been promoting nationally directs clients to such sources as Kauai Gift Baskets (www.kauaigifts. com), where clients can order Kauai cookies, coffee, tea, chocolate-covered or roasted macadamia nuts and tropical fruit jelly, arranged in a woven lauhala (pandanus leaf) basket. Booklines Hawaii (www. booklineshawaii.com) sells books, CDs, videos and gifts with Hawaiian themes. Gecko Farms (www.geckofarms. com) ships leis and tropical flowers to clients on the mainland.

Companies represented on the DBEDT Web site:

ABC Stores www.abcstores.com Aloha from Hawaii www.alohafromhawaii.com Aloha Fun Wear www.alohafunwear.com Aloha Goodies www.alohagoodies.com Aloha Market Online www.medsurf.com/hfma Artful Expressions www.artful-expressions.com Best of Maui www.maui.net/shop/maui.html Cook’s Discoveries www.hawaiinow.com/cooks/index.htm Extreme’s Goodie Basket www.extreme-hawaii.com/basket Harbor Gallery www.harborgallery.biz Hawaii General Store hawaiigeneralstore.com Hawaii Pacific Mall www.hawaiipacificmall.com Hawaii Paradise Trading Company www.hawaiiantrading.com Hawaii Store www.hawaii-store.com Hawaiian Exports www.hawaiianexports.com Hawaiian Island Music www.hawaiianislandmusic.com Hawaiian Music Island www.mele.com Hawaiian Volcano Store www.volcanostore.com Hilo Hattie www.hilohattie.com Hula Source www.hulasource.com Island Heritage www.islandheritage.com Market Place www.maui.net/market.html Maui 411 www.maui.net/~reman/index.html On-line Hawaii General Store www.hotspots.hawaii.com/store.html Shop Hawaii By Mail www.shophawaiibymail.com

>