The Taos Inn is a little hotel with a lot going on. Located in
the center of town just off the famous plaza, the hotel is within
walking distance of galleries, museums and eateries. And clients
who arrive at night will probably find a lobby packed with people
listening to live music. Almost every night, between 7 p.m. and 10
p.m., the Adobe Bar in the hotel lobby hosts musical guests playing
a range of music from bluegrass to Celtic to old-fashioned rock ‘n
roll. It is for this reason that the Taos Inn’s lobby has been
called the “living room” of Taos.
The three buildings that make up the hotel were originally
purchased by “Doc” Martin Taos County’s first doctor and his wife,
Helen. It was originally called the Martin Apartments, but after
Doc’s death in 1933, the building was transformed into a hotel by
Helen, and in 1936, it opened as the Hotel Martin. The Martins’
support of Taos’ emerging art community lead to visits from Georgia
O’Keefe, Aldous Huxley, Thomas Wolfe and D.H. Lawrence.
Each of the 39 rooms at the hotel has its own character. The
largest rooms are on the courtyard, and have king-size beds, some
with two to three twin-size beds or trundles, perfect for families
traveling with children. Rooms can hold up to five people, and some
are equipped with small kiva fireplaces to warm guests after a cold
day of sightseeing or skiing. A Jacuzzi is also located just off
the courtyard. Rooms in the main building and the Sandoval house
are perfect for couples. For clients who don’t mind a little noise
from the music below, rooms just off the lobby are in the center of
the action, and are the least expensive. (For a complete list of
rooms and specifications, see the Inn’s Web site.)
Not only is the hotel a popular local hangout, it’s home to the
historic Doc Martin’s Restaurant, which is located at the hotel and
was formerly Doc’s office. The restaurant’s wine list is
consistently ranked as one of the top in all of New Mexico and the
food is sensational. Serving contemporary American cuisine, the
award-winning establishment has received accolades from both Zagat
and Wine Spectator Magazine. After a recent visit, my personal
recommendation is Doc’s famous chile relleno that is available as
both a main course and an appetizer. For clients staying over the
holidays, the restaurant offers special Thanksgiving and Christmas
meals, and also offers a prix fixe menu. In the summer, guests can
dine outside on the inn’s popular patio. Clients should be sure to
make a reservation to avoid a long wait.
The Inn’s other eatery, the Adobe Bar, is where Robert Redford
and Julia Roberts a local resident come to sip margaritas, and it’s
one of the best music spots in Northern New Mexico. The bar and
bistro serves hand-crafted cocktails and features a Mexican-style
menu with items like taquitos, nachos and tacos. Adobe Bar also
boasts one of the best margaritas in Taos.
For clients wanting a taste of traditional New Mexican hospitality,
there’s nothing better than the Taos Inn.
The Historic Taos Inn
125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte
Taos, NM 87571
For artsy clients exploring the Taos area tell them about the
Millicent Rogers Museum, hidden away in an adobe bungalow, four
miles outside of Taos. There clients can see an impressive
collection of jewelry, pottery, textiles and contemporary art from
Northern New Mexico.
Rogers was the granddaughter of Henry Huttleston Rogers, a New
York industrialist. After traveling for much of her life, she
settled in Taos in the late 1940s, bringing with her stunning
collections of Navajo and pueblo jewelry, textiles and pottery. In
the six years she resided in Taos, she continued to expand the
collection, which makes up the majority of the over 800 items on
display in the museum.
Presently, the museum actively collects and displays
contemporary arts and crafts representing all cultures in Northern
Through May 13, clients visiting the museum will also be able to
see the Paul Peralta-Ramos Collection. Peralta-Ramos was Rogers’
youngest son and after his death, he bequeathed part of his own
extensive collection to the museum. The exhibit includes the rare
Navajo “Ute Chief” blanket.
Millicent Rogers Museum
1504 Millicent Rogers Road
Hours: Open daily 10 a.m.-6 p.m.
The museum is closed on Mondays through March.